ICSA Hall of Fame

Walter Cromwell Wood Bowl

Click to enlarge

ICSA Team Racing National Championship

This regatta has been run since 1954. Through 1976, each district formed an All‑Star team comprised of skippers from their Morss Trophy entries or other top sailors from the district to compete in the Team Racing Championship. After 1976, each entry for the team racing championship was made up of individuals from one college, and districts held separate eliminations to qualify teams. At present, the five largest districts receive two entries each, while the two smaller districts receive one entry each for a total of twelve teams. The size of each individual team was also lowered from four to three boats per team. A full round‑robin series is sailed, with each college racing all opposing colleges once.

The Walter C. Wood Trophy was donated by M.I.T. graduates and friends in honor of Walter C. "Jack" Wood of M.I.T. for his outstanding contributions to intercollegiate sailing.  The Wood Trophy since 1977 has been awarded for the North American Team Racing Championship.

This trophy honors the outstanding contributions of Walter C. "Jack" Wood to intercollegiate sailing.  Jack was M.I.T.'s first sailing director and, in conjunction with Len Fowle, was a founder of college racing.  The trophy was donated by M.I.T. graduates and other friends of Jack.

2018 College of Charleston Christophe Killian '18
Elizabeth Pemberton '18
Augie Dale '19
Katherine Lounsbury '20
Stefano Peschiera '18
Grace McCarthy '18
2017 College of Charleston Stefano Peschiera '18
Grace McCarthy '18
Jack Cusick '17
Chloe Dapp '17
Christophe Killian '18
Annabel Carrington '19
Caroline Bracken '19
Elizabeth Pemberton '18
2016 Yale University Ian Barrows '17
Meredith Megarry '17
Malcolm Lamphere '18
Clara Robertson '17
Nicholas Baird '19
Chandler Gregoire '17
Joseph Kiss '17
Charlotte Belling '16
2015 Yale University
2014 Yale University
2013 Yale University
2012 College of Charleston
2011 Roger Williams University
2010 St. Mary’s College of Maryland College
2009 Boston College
2008 Boston College
2007 St. Mary’s College of Maryland College
2006 Georgetown University
2005 Hobart & William Smith Colleges
2004 St. Mary’s College of Maryland College
2003 Harvard University
2002 Harvard University
2001 Georgetown University
2000 St. Mary’s College of Maryland College
1999 St. Mary’s College of Maryland College
1998 Old Dominion University
1997 Stanford University
1996 Tufts University
1995 Tufts University
1994 Tufts University
1993 Tufts University
1992 U.S. Naval Academy
1991 U.S. Naval Academy
1990 Old Dominion University
1989 U.S. Naval Academy
1988 University of California Irvine
1987 U.S. Naval Academy
1986 Tulane University
1985 University of Southern California
1984 Tufts University
1983 U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
1982 Boston University
1981 Long Beach State University
1980 Boston University
1979 U.S. Naval Academy
1978 U.S. Naval Academy
1977 University of Rhode Island
1976 New England I.S.A. Tufts University
Yale University
1975 Midwest C.S.A. University of Michigan
Michigan State University
1974 New England I.S.A U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Harvard University
1973 Southeastern I.S.A. University of Texas
Tulane University
1972 Midwest C.S.A. University of Michigan
Michigan State University
University of Notre Dame
Ohio Wesleyan University
1971 Pacific Coast I.Y.R.A. San Diego State University
University of Southern California
1970 New England I.S.A University of Rhode Island
Yale University
Harvard University