NEISA Watch Lists Spring 2019

CAMBRIDGE, MA—2/15/19 – The NEISA Awards Committee has announced the 2019 NEISA Watch Lists for Coed and Women’s Sailor of the Year, Babineau Crew of the Year and Women’s Crew of the Year. These lists include the top sailors from New England colleges and universities based on results to date.

The NEISA Coed and Women’s Sailors of the Year honors the best skippers in the conference. Often NEISA Sailors of the Year are finalists and/or winners of the ICSA Sailor of the Year Awards. The Babineau Trophy, named for Coast Guard Academy sailor and Cadet Julie Babineau, recognizes the most outstanding crew. The Women’s Crew of the Year honors the best crew in women’s competitions. 

Honorees are selected by the coaches of the NEISA Awards Committee. The committee considers the competitive record of each candidate. In determining the quantity and quality of a record, the committee has particular regard for the following factors:how the record compares to those of fellow competitors, the quality of competition in which the record was achieved, results achieved competing with different skippers and crews, whether the record spans the Fall and/or Spring seasons, and how the record compares to those of All-NEISA sailors selected in previous years. The committee does not consider the following factors: candidates’ records in previous years, or candidates’ records in non-college events. While these standout players are the initial contenders, all players are eligible for NEISA Awards.

NEISA Awards Committee

David Thompson - Chair

Bill Healy

Chris Klevan

Michael Kalin

Stan Schreyer


Nicholas Baird ‘19, Yale University

Shawn Harvey ‘21, Yale University

Connor Harding ‘19, Roger Williams University

Nicolas Hernandez ‘19, Yale University

Matthew Kaplan ‘19, Bowdoin College

Patrick Shanahan ‘19, Brown University

Wade Waddell ‘19, Boston College

Christopher Williford ‘19, Dartmouth College


Ragna Agerup ‘20, Brown University

Emily Haig ‘21, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Christine Klingler ‘20, Yale University

Louisa Nordstrom ‘20, Yale University

Sophia Reineke ‘21, Boston College

Hannah Steadman ‘20, Brown University



Jennifer Agell ‘19, Roger Williams University

Sonia Lingos-Utley ‘21, Yale University

Tara Ferraris ‘19, Boston College

Graceann Nicolosi ‘20, Yale University

Sameena Shaffeeullah ‘19, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Catherine Webb ‘22, Yale University



Tara Ferraris ‘19, Boston College

Emily Ito ‘19, Brown University

Emma Jakobson ‘21, Harvard University

Megha Malpani ‘19, Brown University

Brooke McGoldrick ‘20, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Graceann Nicolosi ‘20, Yale University


The NEISA Awards Committee will announce the Women’s All-NEISA team at the conclusion of the NEISA Women’s Championship for the Jerry Reed Trophy hosted by MIT on April 21st. The Coed All-NEISA team will be named at the end of racing at the NEISA Dinghy Championship for the Coast Guard Alumni Bowl hosted by Bowdoin College on April 28th. 


The New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association (NEISA) is the organizing authority for sailing competition at colleges and universities throughout New England and in some parts of Canada. NEISA is one of seven conferences around the country that comprise College Sailing, the governing body of Intercollegiate Sailing. Currently boasting over fifty scholastic members, NEISA seeks to encourage and advance sailboat racing, in all its variations through weekly competitions throughout the spring and the fall. Education, training, student leadership, and sportsmanship have been the cornerstones of NEISA since its inception in Cambridge, MA in 1949. Visit neisa.collegesailing.org to learn more.

Previous Coed Sailors of the Year

2011 Cy Thompson ‘11, Roger Williams University

2012 Joseph Morris ‘12, Yale University

2013 Alec Anderson ‘13, Roger Williams University

2014 Graham Landy ‘15, Yale University  

2015 Graham Landy ‘15, Yale University

2016 Ian Barrows ‘17, Yale University

2017 Ian Barrows ‘17, Yale University

2018 Christopher Williford ‘19, Dartmouth College


Previous Women’s Sailors of the Year

2011 Annie Haeger ‘12, Boston College

2012 Amy Hawkins ‘12, University of Rhode Island

2013 Deirdre Lambert ‘15, Dartmouth

2014 Morgan Kiss ‘15, Yale University

2015 Erika Reineke ‘16, Boston College 

2016 Nikole Barnes ‘17, Coast Guard Academy

2017 Erika Reineke ‘17, Boston College

2018 Dana Rhode ‘18, U.S. Coast Guard Academy


Previous Babineau Crews of the Year

2011 Emily Massa ‘12, Boston College

2012 Heather May ‘12, Yale University

2013 Pat Hession ‘13, Boston College

2014 Katherine Gaumond ‘15 Yale University

2015 Elizabeth Barnard ‘15, Boston College

2016 Sydney Karnovsky ‘16, Harvard University

2017 Clara Robertson ‘17, Yale University

2018 Graceann Nicolosi ‘20, Yale University