LaserPerformance Team Race National Championship Day 2

Racing continued today in the LaserPerformance Team Race National Championship on North San Diego Bay, co-hosted by San Diego Yacht Club and the Pacific Coast Collegiate Sailing Conference. The top sixteen collegiate team racing teams in the nation are vying for the national title and the Walter C. Wood Trophy.

The winds were out of the west at around 5-8 knots for most of the day and temperatures stayed in the mid to high 60s. Due to holiday boat traffic the conditions also included choppy and lumpy water.

The first round, with all 16 teams, was completed today. There were 36 races left in the round and places 9-16 were determined as well as the top eight teams, who advanced to the next round of racing. Sailors are competing in FJs on a digital N course. The scores from each round of racing carry over to the next.

A sail off between Dartmouth College and Brown University, Brown and Old Dominion University and Dartmouth and Old Dominion took place at the end of the first round to break ties and determine who would advance to the top 8. Each team won a race and lost a race, but once the total wins, losses and points were calculated, Brown and Dartmouth advanced to the round of 8 teams and Old Dominion just missed out.

First Round Robin Results (wins and losses)

1. Yale University, 14-1
2. Boston College, 13-2
3. St. Mary’s College of Maryland, 13-2*
4. Georgetown University, 11-4*
5. College of Charleston, 11-4
6. Stanford University, 10-5
7. Dartmouth College, 8-7 b
8. Old Dominion University c
9. Brown University d
10. U.S. Naval Academy, 7-8
11. University of California at Santa Barbara, 6-9
12. Eckerd College, 5-10
13. Texas A&M University at Galveston, 2-13**
14. University of Michigan, 2-13 b
15. University of Wisconsin, 2-13 c
16. University of Washington, 0-15

*Tie stands

**Total points scored when tied teams met (18)
b Total points scored when tied teams met (21)
c Total points scored when tied teams met (24)

Top 8 racing got underway around 4 p.m. and wrapped up around 5 p.m. Nine races were completed in the second round today with 19 more to go. The winds in the afternoon were so light with the choppy water that the race committee called the racing earlier than they had anticipated for the day.

Yale University, the defending champion of the event, continues to hold onto their lead from yesterday with only one loss that they suffered in the preliminary round to St. Mary’s College of Maryland.

“It is unbelievably tight competition for the final four,” says Bill Healy, assistant coach for Yale. “We struggled in every race today, especially in the first half of our races – our downwinds were good.”

“Our most notable difficult race today was with Georgetown,” Healy says, but Yale did come back to win it in the end. “Tomorrow we hope the conditions are similar, although they are tough, they are what our crews are feeling most comfortable in.”

Yale’s team is made up of the same sailors that won the event last year, except for freshman skipper, Nicholas Baird.

Sailing for Yale is Sailing for Yale is: Ian Barrows '17, Meredith Megarry '17, Malcolm Lamphere '18, Chandler Gregoire '17, Nicholas Baird '19 and Charlotte Belling '16.

Holding onto second place from yesterday is Boston College who went into the top 8 round with only two losses and then sustained two losses in the round of 8, however, they are one of only two teams that sailed three races in the top 8 today.

“All of the races are really challenging,” says Greg Wilkinson head coach for Boston College. “We made some mistakes on the starting line today, but our team is quite quick.”

“We are aiming to start better tomorrow, because we can’t give anyone a head start,” Wilkinson says.

Sailing for Boston College is Sailing for Boston College is Raul Rios '16, Allison Ferraris '17, Harry Koeppel '17, Hannah Lynn '17, Charles Sinks '18 and Katherine Downey '16.

In third place, losing a tiebreaker with Boston College is St. Mary’s College of Maryland. St. Mary’s also managed to hold onto third place, where they finished up after yesterday’s racing.

“We had a long break after the preliminary round waiting for the sail offs and we went back into the top 8 and lost the first two races,” says Bill Ward, director of sailing for St. Mary’s. “So it was good to win our third race against Boston College.”

“Tomorrow we will go out fresh, able to start and be even with everyone, and convert the races to wins,” Ward says.

Sailing for St. Mary’s is Alexander Curtiss '16, Shelby Jacobs '17, Edmund Cooper '17, Mariah Leffingwell '16, Markus Edegran '16 and Kaitlyn Noreen '16.

Racing is scheduled to continue tomorrow at 10:30 a.m. Once the top 8 round is completed racing will begin in the final four round. No race can start after 5 p.m. An awards ceremony for the competitors will be held after racing at the San Diego Port Pier.

Top Eight Results (wins and losses)

1. Yale University, 16-1
2. Boston College, 14-4
3. St. Mary’s College of Maryland, 14-4
4. Georgetown University, 13-4
5. College of Charleston, 12-5
6. Stanford University, 11-6
7. Dartmouth College, 9-8
8. Brown University, 8-9

To see more results and learn more about the teams competing in all of the events visit the event website: http://2016nationals.collegesailing.org/.


Dan Egan, of Degan Media, is providing live coverage sponsored by LaserPerformance and Gill North America. It is streaming from the event website with commentary, http://2016nationals.collegesailing.org/. Additional live coverage and social media updates will be available throughout the events on the regatta website.

Contact: Jennifer Mitchell | Toile à Voile for ICSA | media@collegesailing.org | 763-234-8286 m.


About SDYC
“The San Diego Yacht Club encourages and fosters an environment that helps and continues to produce the best in the world of yachting-related activities. Founded in 1886, SDYC has become a world renown yachting community recognized for its success in bay sailing, ocean racing, cruising, angling, and its world class youth sailing program. SDYC is consistently ranked among the top 5 yacht clubs in the U.S. and is recognized by the Club Leadership Forum as one of the finest facilities of its kind in the world.”


The ICSA sponsors and partners through the 2015-2016 season are: LaserPerformance (www.laserperformance.com), title sponsor of “LaserPerformance Men’s and Women’s Singlehanded National Championship”, title sponsor of “LaserPerformance College Sailing Team Race National Championship” and Official Boat Supplier of the ICSA Spring National Championships. Sperry (www.sperry.com), title sponsor of the “Sperry College Sailing Women’s National Championship”. Gill North American (gillna.com), title sponsor of “The Gill College Sailing National Championship”. Quantum Sail Design Group (www.quantumsails.com), official sponsor of the “Quantum Women’s College Sailor of the Year”. Marlow Ropes (www.marlowropes.com), presenting sponsor of the “Marlow Ropes College Sailor of the Year Award” and “Official Rope of College Sailing”. US Sailing (www.ussailing.org), supporting sponsor of the “ICSA National Championship Semi-finals”.

Photo Credit: Cynthia Sinclair Photography and Stacy Childers Photography & House of Style Studio