#1 Yale Wins New England Championship

Written by Chris Klevan, Photos by Ken Legler

Sunday morning at the Savin Hill Yacht Club showed an early, stiff seabreeze. “Brisk,” said PRO Alden Reid. As predicted, the breeze, building throughout the day, coupled with the temperature created a championship atmosphere fitting only for the New England Coed Championship/ US Coast Guard Alumni Bowl.

The #1 Yale Bulldogs entered the boatyard 4 points behind Saturday’s leaders, the #15 Roger Williams Hawks and defending New England Champions. Throughout the day on Sunday the Bulldogs outmatched the opposition, finishing the regatta 1st overall with 201 total points, 17 point ahead of Roger Williams.

NEISA Sailor of the Year, Ian Barrows with Babineau trophy winner, NEISA Crew of the Year, Clara Robertson won A-Division narrowly over University of Rhode Island’s Rachel Bryer (‘17), Hannah Scanlon (‘18) and Ellis Havelock (‘18). Throughout the season, Mr. Barros and Ms. Robertson have proven to be the fastest boat in the nation. The pair caught fire in the middle of the day Saturday and sailed extremely impressively in the breeze.

Roger William’s second place finish was led by an transcendent B-Division win by Junior, Mackenzie Bryan, Jennifer Angell (‘19) and Michael McBrien (‘18).

The home team, #3 Boston College finished 3rd overall with 226 points.

#1 Yale, #15 Roger Williams, #3 Boston College, #11 Boston University, #12 Coast Guard, #7 Dartmouth, Rhode Island and #12 Tufts composed the top 9 respectively and are the teams that will represent NEISA at the ICSA Semi-Final, May 30-31 in Charleston, SC.

Notably, #20 Harvard, #4 MIT, #14 Bowdoin and #17 Connecticut College failed to qualify for the Coed Semi-final regatta. This year’s NEISA Coed Championship was one of the deepest regattas of the year.