About the Awards

The ICSA Trophy Case

All America honorees, annual winners of each championship, and inductees to the ICSA College Sailing Hall of Fame

College Sailing / Gill N.A. Coed National Championship
Henry A. Morss Memorial Trophy


The National Dinghy Championship was inaugurated in 1937, with a group of prominent yachtsmen donating the Henry A. Morss Memorial Trophy to the Inter-Collegiate Y.R.A. as a perpetual trophy in memory of a yachtsman and former MIT official who helped make possible college dinghy racing.  The donors include Charles Francis Adams, Nathaniel F. Ayer, Edwin A. Boardman, Charles P. Curtis, Chandler Hovey, and Gerald B. Lambert.  The Morss Trophy, which is the most coveted and important of all inter-collegiate dinghy trophies, is a simple but beautiful bowl of the Paul Revere type on which the names of the winning colleges and crews are engraved.  The early competitions were sailed at MIT on the Charles River, but since 1946 the site has been rotated throughout the member districts of the Intercollegiate Yacht Racing Association.

Winners of Henry A. Morss Memorial Trophy

1937-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1938-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1939-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1940-Princeton University
1941-Princeton University
1942-Brown University
1943-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1944-U.S. Coast Guard Academy
1945-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1946-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1947-Yale University
1948-Brown University
1949-Yale University
1950-Yale University
1951-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1952-Harvard University
1953-Harvard University
1954-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1955-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1956-U.S. Naval Academy
1957-U.S. Naval Academy
1958-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1959-Harvard University
1960-U.S. Coast Guard Academy
1961-Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1962-U.S. Coast Guard Academy
1963-Princeton University
1964-University of British Columbia
1965-University of Rhode Island
1966-U.S. Coast Guard Academy
1967-University of Rhode Island
1968-San Diego State University
1969-San Diego State University
1970-University of Southern California
1971-University of Southern California
1972-University of California, Irvine
1973-Tulane University
1974-Harvard University
1975-Yale University
1976-Tufts University
1977-University of Rhode Island
1978-University of Southern California
1979-U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
1980-Tufts University
1981-Tufts University
1982-Boston University
1983-U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
1984-U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
1985-Boston University
1986-College of Charleston
1987-U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
1988-University of California, Irvine
1989-Old Dominion University
1990-University of California, Irvine
1991-U.S. Naval Academy
1992-Dartmouth College
1993-U.S. Naval Academy
1994-U.S. Naval Academy
1995-U.S. Naval Academy
1996-U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
1997-Tufts University
1998-Old Dominion University
1999-Boston University
2000-St. Mary’s College Of Maryland
2001-Tufts University
2002-St. Mary’s College Of Maryland
2003-Harvard University
2004-University of Hawaii
2005-Hobart & William Smith Colleges
2006-College of Charleston
2007-College of Charleston
2008-Georgetown University
2009-St. Mary’s College of Maryland
2010-Boston College
2011-Boston College
2012-Georgetown University
2013-College of Charleston