About the Awards

The ICSA Trophy Case

All America honorees, annual winners of each championship, and inductees to the ICSA College Sailing Hall of Fame

College Sailing Season Championship Trophy
Leonard M. Fowle Trophy


The Fowle Trophy honors the late Graduate Secretary of the New England District and Executive Vice President of the ICYRA/NA.  Len served in both posts from their creation until his death in 1973 and his devotion to college sailing is without peer. College sailing today had its very beginnings in the organizational ability and personal drive of this one man.

This trophy is awarded to the college with the greatest number of Fowle Trophy points, compiled from the results of the College Sailing Championship Semi Finals and Finals: Coed, Team Racing, Women’s, Singlehanded (Men’s and Women’s), and Match Racing.

1972-NY Maritime
1973-NY Maritime
1975-Tufts University
1976-Tufts University
1977-U.S. Naval Academy
1978-U.S. Naval Academy
1979-U.S. Naval Academy
1980-U.S. Naval Academy
1981-U.S. Naval Academy
1982-U.S. Naval Academy
1983-U.S. Naval Academy
1984-Tufts University
1985-Boston University
1986-College of Charleston
1987-U.S. Naval Academy
1988-College of Charleston
1989-Old Dominion University
1990-Old Dominion University
1991-Brown University
1992-U.S. Naval Academy
1993-Tufts University
1994-Tufts University
1995-Tufts University
1996-Tufts University
1997-U.S. Naval Academy
1998-College of Charleston
1999-Tufts University
2000-St. Mary’s College of Maryland
2001-Harvard University
2002-Harvard University
2003-Harvard University
2004-Harvard University
2005-Harvard University
2006-Georgetown University
2007-College of Charleston
2008-Boston College
2009-Yale University
2010-Boston College
2011-Boston College
2012-College of Charleston
2013-Yale University