About the Awards

The ICSA Trophy Case

All America honorees, annual winners of each championship, and inductees to the ICSA College Sailing Hall of Fame

Competitors Division

All-America Sailing Team
- Winners List

Since 1967, ICSA has recognized the achievements of its sailors through selection to the ICSA All-America Sailing Team.  Sailors are recognized for their competitive excellence in the following categories:

    • Skippers in open events (men or women)
    • Women’s Skippers in open events
    • Crews in open and women-only events
    • (Honorable Mention honors are awarded in the first two categories)

In addition, the recipients of the Everett Morris Memorial Trophy for College Sailor of the Year, the Quantum Women’s Sailor of the Year, the Robert H. Hobbs Sportsmanship Award and the James Rousmaniere Award for Student Leadership are also included as members of the ICSA All-America Sailing Team.

In 1983, Sailing World Magazine began recognizing outstanding crews for enthusiasm, dedication, and talent.  In 1995, ICSA voted to change the designation to “ICSA All American Crew” and upgraded the honor to full recognition as a member of the ICSA All-America Sailing Team.

All-Academic Sailing Team
- Winners List

- 2013 Nomination Form

The ICSA All-Academic Sailing Team recognizes those scholar athletes who have distinguished themselves in national and intersectional competition, while achieving the highest levels of academic excellence. The ICSA All-Academic Sailing Team (AAST) was inaugurated in 2006, and joins the ICSA All-American Sailing Team, which recognizes outstanding competitive performance only.

Each year, up to 10 scholar athletes are selected for the National First Team, with up to another 10 selected for the National Second Team. If appropriate, the committee may name an All-Conference team as well. In order to be eligible for consideration, a scholar-athlete must have a junior or senior academic standing, and have completed one full academic year at the member institution prior to the year for which the award is being received. The nominee must have achieved a minimum cumulative overall grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.00 scale.

As a student-athlete, the nominee must be a key starter or reserve member of their institution’s sailing team; no distinction is made between sailors who compete for teams that are considered varsity sports or club sports by their respective institution. The nominee must have sailed regularly at the conference and national level in any of the six ICSA national championship disciplines (coed double-handed, women’s double-handed, men’s single-handed, women’s single-handed, coed team racing, or coed sloops), in any capacity (skipper or crew), though the nominee is not required to have competed in a national championship event.

Nominees are evaluated for excellence in the classroom and in their race record. National First and Second Team selections will have proven themselves to be highly competitive academically and in national competition.

Everett Morris Memorial Trophy for College Sailor of the Year

The Morris Trophy is awarded annually to the College Sailor of the Year. The trophy is named in memory of a distinguished journalist who spent more than 30 years, most of them with the New York Herald Tribune, as a yachting writer and editor. He was also actively involved in sailing programs and activities including service as president of the Junior Sailing Association of Long Island Sound. Mr. Morris died February 14, 1967 at the age of 67.

Quantum Women’s Sailor of the Year

The Quantum Female Sailor of the Year is presented annually to the woman sailor who has consistently performed at the highest competitive levels in district and national championships. “With the growing role of women in our sport, we felt it was only appropriate that the best female sailors should receive the same recognition as the top men’s sailors,” notes Ed Reynolds Quantum’s president.

Robert H. Hobbs Sportsmanship Award

The Hobbs Trophy is awarded annually to the Sportsman of the Year. The trophy honors Robert Hobbs (MIT ’64), past Executive Vice President of ICSA, past President of US SAILING (1992-1994), and former chair of the US SAILING Olympic Committee.

James Rousmaniere Award for Student Leadership

Recognizing extraordinary leadership and achievement by an undergraduate whose efforts have made a significant contribution to the development, progress, and success of his or her club or team, conference, or the ICSA. Demonstrated leadership over a period of years, rather than a single year, will receive the most serious consideration.